Design Fiction on the futures of the bioeconomy

Science Communication,
Trend and future research,
Concept development and implementation,
Participative workshops,
Creation of design fictions, Graphic design
Services
April – December 2021
Duration
Funded by
Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF)
Project partner

IZT – Institut für Zukunftsstudien und Technologiebewertung, Wenzel Mehnert

Challenge
The bioeconomy is a dynamic field of innovation that opens up new technological, economic and social development paths. With regard to current and future societal challenges - such as food security, climate and environmental protection, resource conservation or sustainable management - it offers a wide range of potential solutions. But how these potentials can be realized in the best possible way is still widely open. Due to the multi-layered nature of the bioeconomy, its negotiation represents a challenge that cannot be implemented along the lines of just one discipline. Bioeconomy affects us all! For this to happen, however, the topic must be brought out of its niche and given a broad audience. Therefore, a format is needed through which as many people as possible can discuss its design. Through the multi-stage process and especially the cooperation with the influencers, we were able to make an important contribution to science communication in the sense of publicizing and spreading the concept of the bioeconomy with bio:fictions.
Process
The project partners developed a multi-stage project concept that is intended to contribute to the current debate and to the shaping of tomorrow's biobased economy and way of life.

First, innovators in the bioeconomy were interviewed about future developments within defined innovation fields in order to process their expertise and bundle it for the workshops. Then, in co-creative workshops, various stakeholders were actively involved in shaping the future and encouraged to solve problems. The multilevel nature of the workshops initiated a learning process that enabled complex issues of the bioeconomy to be opened up. Based on this, future scenarios and narratives of the bioeconomy were created, which in turn served as the basis for the creation of design fictions. Three design fiction scenarios, each with two future narratives, were then translated into Instagram stories and shared with the communities (25,000 to 133,000 subscribers) of seven influencers.
Process steps

Interviews with experts

Identification of innovation fields

Design fictions from future scenarios and narratives of the bioeconomy

Dissemination via influencers and closing event

Innovation field specific workshops

Outcome
Together with stakeholders from business, science, politics and civil society, we were able to generate alternative future scenarios to discuss the opportunities and risks, as well as the needs and value conflicts that may arise in the possible development paths of the bioeconomy. The fictional visions of the future open up spaces of possibility and pose the question "What if?". On social media, the resulting design fictions gained wide reach and carried the topic to a broad public. Through the collaboration with the influencers, a reach of 282,829 contacts was achieved, including a multitude of interactions and responses to the respective topics.
More about the project can be found here: www.biofictions.de
BASICS
More Use Cases
Made on
Tilda

Design Fictions über die Zukünfte der Bioökonomie

Wissenschaftskommunikation,
Trend- und Zukunftsforschung,
Konzeptentwicklung und -durchführung,
Partizipative Workshops,
Erstellung von Design Fictions,
Grafikdesign
Services
April – Dezember 2021
Zeitraum
Gefördert durch
Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF)
Partner

Institut für Zukunftsstudien und Technologiebewertung (IZT),
Wenzel Mehnert

Challenge
Bioökonomie ist ein dynamisches Innovationsfeld, das neue technologische, wirtschaftliche sowie gesellschaftliche Entwicklungspfade eröffnet. Mit Hinblick auf gegenwärtige und zukünftige gesellschaftliche Herausforderungen – wie Ernährungssicherung, Klima- und Umweltschutz, Ressourcenschonung oder nachhaltiges Wirtschaften – bietet sie verschiedenste Lösungspotenziale an. Doch wie diese Potenziale bestmöglich realisiert werden können, ist noch weitgehend offen. Aufgrund der Vielschichtigkeit der Bioökonomie stellt ihre Aushandlung eine Herausforderung dar, die nicht nur entlang einer Disziplin umgesetzt werden kann. Bioökonomie geht uns alle an! Hierfür muss das Thema jedoch aus der Nische herausgeführt werden und eine breite Reichweite erfahren. Es bedarf also eines Formats durch das möglichst viele Menschen ihre Gestaltung mitdiskutieren können. Durch das mehrstufige Verfahren und insbesondere die Zusammenarbeit mit Influencer:innen konnte mit bio:fictions ein wichtiger Beitrag zur Wissenschaftskommunikation im Sinne der Bekanntmachung und Verbreitung des Konzepts der Bioökonomie geleistet werden.
Prozess
Die Verbundpartner entwickelten ein mehrstufiges Projektkonzept, das zur gegenwärtigen Debatte sowie zur Gestaltung biobasierter Wirtschafts- und Lebensweisen von morgen beitragen soll.

Zuerst wurden Innovateur:innen der Bioökonomie zu zukünftigen Entwicklungen innerhalb von definierten Innovationsfeldern interviewt, um deren Expertise aufzuarbeiten und diese für die Workshops zu bündeln. Anschließend wurden in ko-kreativen Werkstätten verschiedene Stakeholder aktiv an der Zukunftsgestaltung beteiligt und zur Problemlösung animiert. Durch die Mehrstufigkeit der Werkstätten wurde ein Lernprozess initiiert, mit dem komplexe Sachverhalte der Bioökonomie erschlossen werden konnten. Basierend darauf wurden Zukunftsszenarien und Narrative der Bioökonomie erstellt, die wiederum als Grundlage für die Kreation von Design Fictions dienten. Drei Design-Fiction-Szenarien mit je zwei Zukunftsnarrativen wurden im Anschluss in Instagram-Stories übersetzt und über sieben Influencer:innen mit deren Community (25.000 bis 133.000 Abonnent:innen) geteilt.
Prozessschritte

Interviews mit Expert:innen

Identifikation der Innovationsfelder

Design Fictions aus Zukunftsszenarien und Narrativen der Bioökonomie

Verbreitung über Influencer:innen und Abschlussveranstaltung

Innovationsfeldspezifische Workshops

Ergebnis
Gemeinsam mit Akteur:innen der Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft, Politik und Zivilgesellschaft konnten wir alternative Zukunftsszenarien generieren, um die Chancen und Risiken, sowie die Bedürfnisse und Wertekonflikte zu diskutieren, die in den möglichen Entwicklungspfaden der Bioökonomie entstehen können. Die fiktiven Zukunftsvisionen eröffnen Möglichkeitsräume und stellen die Frage nach dem „Was wäre wenn?". In den Sozialen Medien erlangten die entstandenen Design Fictions eine große Reichweite und trugen das Thema in eine breite Öffentlichkeit. Durch die Zusammenarbeit mit den Influencer:innen wurde eine Reichweite von 282.829 Kontakten erzielt, inklusive einer Vielzahl von Interaktionen und Antworten auf die jeweiligen Themen.
Mehr Infos zum Projekt gibt es hier: www.biofictions.de
BASICS
Mehr Fallstudien